Welcome to the Adult Services page of the Lower Providence Community Library website.  Find upcoming Programs & Events, check out our Resources for Readers, and send us your recommendations for books, DVDs, and other materials you would like to have in the library.  Also, please let us know if you have any ideas for programming. We would love to hear from you!

To register for programs, email Barbara Loewengart or call the library at 610-666-6640 for the Circulation Desk.


Adult Yoga

Classes for May: Mondays: May 7, 14 & 21 from 5:45 – 6:45pm. Fridays: May 4, 11, 18 & 25 from 3:15 – 4:15pm.

Taught by certified yoga instructor Kamini Patel. Bring a mat or a towel and a $5 donation. Funds provide books and supplies to children in India.

Register For Adult Yoga

Chair Yoga for Adults

Classes in May: Wednesdays, May 2, 9, 16, 23 & 30 1:30 – 2:30pm.

Gentle yoga for people with less mobility, led by certified yoga instructor Kamini Patel. Cost is $5/session. Funds provide books and supplies to children in India.

Register For Chair Yoga

Meditation Sessions

Classes for May: Mondays at 7:15pm., May 7, 14 & 21

Please join us for FREE meditation sessions. Open to all levels. Bring your active mind and wear comfortable clothing.  Taught by Roger Shaughnessy, YT-200.

Register For Meditation Sessions

Movie Matinee

Monday, June 4 at 1:30pm.  The Post. Starring Meryl Streep and Tom Hanks. Rated PG-13.

Monday, June 25 at 1:30pm.  Murder on the Orient Express. All star cast. Rated PG-13.

Come to the Movie Matinee and enjoy a free showing of a hit movie!  This program is free and open to the public, but registration is required.

Register For Movie Matinee

Evening Book Discussion Group

Wednesday, June 13 at 7:00pm, we will be discussing Hillbilly Elegy by J.D. Vance. Evening Book Discussion meets at 7:00pm the 2nd Wednesday of each month, September through June.

From a former marine and Yale Law School graduate, a powerful account of growing up in a poor Rust Belt town that offers a broader, probing look at the struggles of America’s white working class. Hillbilly Elegy is a passionate and personal analysis of a culture in crisis—that of white working-class Americans.

The decline of this group, a demographic of our country that has been slowly disintegrating over forty years, has been reported on with growing frequency and alarm, but has never before been written about as searingly from the inside.

J. D. Vance tells the true story of what a social, regional, and class decline feels like when you were born with it hung around your neck.

(From the publisher.)

Register For The Evening Book Discussion

Adult Coloring Book Class

Monday, June 11 at 1:00pm

De-stress and get creative! Join in for a fun, relaxed afternoon with pencils and markers at our Adult Coloring Book Class. We have lots of beautiful coloring book pages to choose from. You’re never too old to color!  All materials provided. For more information, contact Barbara Loewengart.

Register For Coloring Book Class

Afternoon Book Discussion Group

Monday, May 21  at 1:00pm, we will be discussing The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn.

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world’s most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.

Register For The Afternoon Book Discussion Group

A Different Kind of Book Club

Tuesday, June 19 at 6:30pm.

A Different Kind of Book Club will focus on reading books with happy endings (romance, light fantasy, cozy mysteries and the occasional nonfiction).  The group will meet the third Tuesday of the month at 6:30pm. In June, the club will be discussing Chasing Cezanne by Peter Mayle.

Register For A Different Kind of Book Club

Essential Oils for Summer!
Tips, Tricks, & Favorites
A DIY Workshop

THIS PROGRAM IS FULL

Wednesday, May 16 at 6:30pm.

Learn the foundational oils for supporting strong respiratory and immune
systems, making natural insect and tick repellents, soothing summer skin, and first aid for wherever your summer adventures take you. Megan Koppel, a natural health educator, will help you create your own essential oil blend to start using at home right away!

All materials provided. Limited to 15 participants. Registration required.

Register For Essential Oils for Summer

The Red Letter Locker Play

Thursday, May 17 at 7:00pm.

The Lower Providence Community Library will host The Red Letter Locker, a light, fun play, presented by Beacon Theatre Productions.
In The Red Letter Locker by Randy Petersen, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is transported into the present time by a time machine made by his friend, H.G. Wells. Doyle helps a high school student, falsely accused of a crime, exonerate herself by using the craft of Sherlockian deduction. Registration required.

Register For The Red Letter Locker

Documentary Film Night

Young @ Heart.  Rated PG
Thursday, May 31 at 6:30pm.

A documentary on a chorus of senior citizens from Massachusetts who cover songs by Jimi Hendrix, Coldplay, Sonic Youth, and other unexpected musicians.

Register for Documentary Film Night

Father’s Day/Graduation Card Making

Wednesday, June 6 at 7:00pm.

Sheetal Wagh will show you how to create Father’s Day and Graduation themed cards for you to take home. All materials provided. 14 years and older please. Registration required.

Register For Father’s Day/Graduation Day Card Making

Microsoft Publisher Basics

Friday, June 8 from 10:30am – 12:00 noon.

Learn how to use the basic features of Microsoft Publisher to create flyers, brochures, calendars and more.  Class size is limited, registration required.

Register For Microsoft Publisher Basics

New to Medicare

Tuesday, June 12 at 6:30pm.

Do you have questions about Medicare? Need assistance with what Medicare options are available? Need to know what plan is right for you? Donna Uhler, a state-trained volunteer APPRISE counselor will discuss your Medicare questions with you. APPRISE is a program funded by the Pennsylvania Department of Aging and other agencies designed to help Medicare beneficiaries understand their Medicare and health choice options. APPRISE counselors are sponsored and supervised by RSVP of Montgomery County.

Register For New to Medicare

Adult Summer Reading Program – Libraries Rock!

June 18 – August 10

Read Books – Rate Books – Write Reviews – Win Gift Cards!

Fill out a review for each book you read or listen to be entered in a weekly drawing. Place reviews in the box near the Reference Desk.

Adult Summer Reading Guidelines
*Adults 18 & over
*Review the books you read
*June 18—August 10, 2018
*Weekly Prize Drawings!

Contact Barbara Loewengart for more information.

Social Security – 2 part class

Tuesday, June 19 and Wednesday, June 20 at 6:15pm.

This informative workshop covers the basics of social security and reveals strategies for maximizing your benefits.
Learn the answers to your questions:
Will social security be there for me?
How much can I expect to receive?
When should I apply for social security?
How can I maximize my benefits?
Will social security be enough to live on in retirement?
Other information offered includes how to minimize taxes on social security benefits, how to coordinate benefits with your spouse, why you should check your earnings record for accuracy, and how to decide whether or not to delay your benefits.
This program is most beneficial to those between the ages of 58 & 67.
Presented by John J. Crowley, MBA

Registration requested.

Register For Social Security

Memoir Writing Circle

Monday, September 10 from 7:00 – 8:25pm.

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE MEMOIR WRITING CIRCLE IS TAKING A BREAK DURING THE SUMMER MONTHS AND WILL RESUME IN SEPTEMBER.

Join writers in finding their voice through memoir writing. The group will use writing prompts, poems, journal entries and images to discover the compelling themes and stories that comprise a memoir. The Circle will share their writing and read aloud to each other. Suitable for writers of all levels and experience.

Register For Memoir Writing Circle

Cercle Francais

Every Tuesday at 10:30am until 12 noon.

This is not a formal language instruction class, but is for individuals wishing to practice and improve their French language conversation skills. Native speakers are most welcome. We need you, too! Please register and we will notify you three days prior to each weekly meeting.

Register For Cercle Francais

Canasta

Meets every Thursday at 11:45 until 2:00 in the Main Library.

Join us each Thursday to play and learn the social and exciting game of Canasta. Newcomers and experienced players welcomed! For more information, email Barbara Loewengart.


Mahjong Club

Meets every Tuesday at 12:30pm in the Community Room.

Are you interested in playing Mahjong? You are welcome to join our Mahjong club! You will need a playing card, available for purchase ($7.00) at http://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org For more information, email Barbara Loewengart.


Crafters Club

Meets every Wednesday at 10:00 am in the upstairs Board Room.

Do you have a craft you enjoy, or are you trying to finish a project? Meet with other knitting, crochet, jewelry making and cross stitching enthusiasts. All crafts welcome. Bring your own supplies. Learn and share ideas.  All are welcome! For more information, email Barbara Loewengart.